UConn MRS wins 2nd place at MRS Fall Meeting T-shirt Competition!!!

UConn MRS takes home 2nd place at the MRS Fall Meeting T-shirt Competition. Each year MRS University Chapters are welcome to submit a newly designed materials research related t-shirt. T-shirt’s are show cased and voted on by all university chapters in attendance. This year our submission was envisioned my our very own president, Jessica Maita. Building on work conducted at our Center for Advanced Microscopy and Materials Analysis (CAMMA) the following design was submitted.

MRS Student Chapter Welcomes New MSE Graduate Students

By Amanda Olavarria

UConn MRS Student Chapter Welcome Event
UConn MRS Student Chapter Welcome Event

The UConn MRS Student Chapter hosted a Welcome Event for new MSE graduate students at Grille 86 in downtown Storrs as part of their graduate student orientation. This new event, initiated by Director for Graduate Studies Professor Bryan Huey, provides students time to mingle and get to know one another before the semester takes off.

MRS chapter president Gyuho Song and his fellow officers helped make the event a great success. New and current students alike gave positive feedback and were pleased to have attended. One student stated, “It was a lot of fun, and entering into a new place has not at all been intimidating.”

The MRS Student Chapter at UConn serves to educate and recruit future scientists and engineers, as well as provide support for current graduate students in materials science through social events and resources available to the organization. The UConn chapter regularly attends the annual MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit in Boston where they present their research via short talks and posters, have the opportunity to network with graduate students from around the world, and interact with industry professionals and top researchers.