Ken Ogueri receives travel fellowship award at the 254th ACS National Meeting in Washington, DC, August 20-24, 2017

I (Ken Ogueri) was really honored to be a speaker in the just concluded American Chemical Society national meeting in Washington D.C. ( 254th ACS National Meeting). There, I gave an oral presentation at “Polyphosphazenes in Biomedicine, Engineering & Pioneering Synthesis” symposium of the technical division of “polymeric materials science and engineering-PMSE”. I was awarded a travel fellowship award  to cover for the travel expenses. Also, my abstract was selected for the Sci-Mix  poster presentation. Sci-Mix is a large poster session and mixer held at each ACS national meeting. The poster session consists of abstracts selected by division program chairs and represents the most exceptional abstracts submitted to participating divisions.

My doctoral advisor and mentor, Dr. Cato T. Laurencin was also one of the guest speakers in the meeting.

Last July, I was also present in the  “5th Annual Workshop on Micro-And Nanotechnologies for Medicine: Emerging Frontiers And Applications” hosted by Harvard-MIT Health Sciences & Technology in conjunction with MAYO CLINIC at Cambridge, MA. I gave an oral sound-bite presentation of my current research project.

These conferences will keep me up-to date with current trends and new developments in Biomaterials and Tissue/Regenerative Engineering.

Great thanks to my doctoral advisor for these wonderful opportunities!


Best Poster Award for Claire Weiss, Bilge Senturk and Chitra Subramanian

Congratulations to Claire Weiss, Bilge Senturk and Chitra Subramanian, each recipients of the Best Poster Paper Award at the 2011 Connecticut Symposium on Microelectronics and Optoelectronics (CMOC) held at Yale University.  

Best Poster Award for Claire Weiss


Claire Weiss (CMBE, Ph.D. student) – “Influence of the precursor solution mobility on the dielectric response of chemical solution deposited strontium titanate thin films on Si” with MW Cole of the US Army Research Lab and Pamir Alpay

Best Poster Award for Bilge Senturk


Bilge Senturk (CMBE, Ph.D. student)- “Base metal alloys with self-healing native oxides for electrical contact materials” with JV Mantese of UTRC; Yong Liu, Pamir Alpay and Mark Aindow

Best Poster Award for Chitra Subramanian


Chitra Subramanian (Polymer, Ph.D. student) – “Nanofiber based composite structures for PEM fuel cells” with Robert Weiss and Montgomery Shaw.